Another week forward

Another week into 2019 and I haven’t given up on writing regularly. I did miss one day this week where I didn’t even manage some note-taking. I was very tired and worn out and that extended into most of Thursday. But in spite of that and the much smaller word count for the week I am confident I can keep going and not give up.

I’ve made a list of things I can do when I am having trouble getting going or am having emotional issues. Small things like write a sentence, a poem, or plan a scene. Sometimes they lead to a little more, sometimes they don’t but I count as writing, if not always word count.

The problem this week is I’ve just been in a bad mood, both angry and sad. Combined with the pain in my knee, it is all very exhausting. But the knee is slowly getting better and while the emotions are unlikely to go away, I just have to refocus and work anyway. If I can do that I am pretty sure I can finish the first draft of the short story in the upcoming week and also complete chapter 2 of the book I’m writing.

Currently, I am listening to the audiobook for You Are A Badass by Jen Sincero that I’ve checked out from the library. Earlier in the week I read the first two volumes of the DC comic Bombshells, which for those who don’t know is an all female superhero story taking place during WWII involving a large number of DC female heroes like Wonder Woman, Batwoman, Supergirl, etc. It is also heavily queer. So if any of that sounds fun to you I recommend them. My sister gave them to me for Christmas and I really enjoyed those first two volumes and am going to get the rest of the series and the follow up series Bombshells: United.

Cheers to a better upcoming week of writing!

Leave a comment