Reaching “The End” and Beyond

a&v_theend
Just a bit excited to type the end.

I felt the writing groove this week.

It hasn’t been a full week since I last gave an writing update, but I am just so happy about the past few days that I need to update now.

Monday night I finished the first draft of the short story I’ve been working on. Its the first story I’ve completed that was longer than a flash fiction in a long time. I’ve started so many things and left them unfinished the past few years that it is such a relief to have it done. I was typing up the end of the story last night when I finally figured out a scene I had skipped because it was holding me up, and I went back and finished it too.

So of course this being a first draft means it is really rough and not ready for anyone else to read. I am going to put it aside for awhile then go back and begin editing it in a few weeks when it becomes fresh again in the mind.

This is the second thing I have finished in 2019 so far, the first being a flash fiction I wrote on New Year’s day.

So far for January I have finished two stories, written a chapter and a half of a book and done something writing related every day but one.

It is probably the most successful I have felt about writing since 2007 when my dad died and I mostly stopped being able to write.

One thing I do hope though is that I can focus more on the novel. The short story was kind of an accident born out of a random scene I started writing because I couldn’t think of what I wanted to do next in the book. I am not sad I did it, but there is so much book left to do.

One thought on “Reaching “The End” and Beyond

Leave a comment